Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9
Baron de Watergeul Boom Letter
Letter written on December 4, 1781 from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania by Baron de Watergeul Boom to "Mon Cher Ami" concerning celebration on board French ship after Yorktown Campaign. He writes poetry about the party, particularly talking of bachelorhood. Baron de Watergeul Boom may be a pseudonym. Includes poem with classical allusion which is annotated. Original letter is written in French, but English transcription is included.
Pierre Etienne Duponceau papers
Eyewitness Account of the "Revolution of the Park"
12-page letter written by a French language teacher, 'Hortense' (no last name given) to her sister, Olympie, describing the "Revolution of the Park" which began in Buenos Aires on July 26, 1890. Also includes another letter by Hortense dated July 5, 1890, inscribed in purple ink. The letters are written in French. An English transcription of the letter dated 26 July 1890 was provided by the seller and has not been verified for accuracy.
Collection of French Language Manuscripts
Includes manuscript material in French. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. This collection has multiple creators, which have not been indexed at this time.
George Michener Hart Collection on Moncure Robinson
The George Michener Hart Collection on Moncure Robinson is a compilation of the papers, letters, photographs and other artifacts belonging or relating to the noted early American civil and railroad engineer Moncure Robinson. The collection contains correspondence, engineering data, bills, statements of accounts, calling cards, letters, photographs and other items.
Jefferson H. Clark Collection
Richard G. Joynt Collection of British Manuscripts
Richard G. Joynt's collection of British manuscripts, from the 15th to the 20th century, of 88 letters and documents, 41 cut signatures, and many book engravings. The authors and signatures include kings, queens, prime ministers, nobles, military officers, authors, and other dignitaries. Personal matters, military orders and letters, religion, treaties, politics, intrique, and much more are covered in these letters, often interwoven with current events.